Pure bliss.

Today while at work, I decided to slack off for a bit.

John Mayer’s been on repeat at many different points of time in my life. He’s something like a cigarette. You know how, after a long day, you take the first loooong drag and you feel like you’re good again? Yes, he gives me that feeling.

So while slacking, I decided that it is rather weird how I listen to him so often but yet I don’t know anything about the mind that ignites such bliss in me. So I googled him.

There was this article he wrote for Rolling Stones, about Jimi Hendrix. Any fan of music knows Jimi Hendrix is an immortal as far as music goes.

In this short article, Mayer speaks of how Hendrix influenced him and the likes of such. While reading it, I realized that I share many similar sentiments with Mayer, but with him.

There were many bits in that article that I personally felt Mayer possessed.

Have you ever had that one musician you always put on, whether it was to cure a bad day, or to bask in a good day, to push your spirits up or to share your sorrows with? Mayer is mine. He is the one I turn to when things seem to be taking a wrong turn. He is the one I tune in to when I need to get a boost of happy, or when I’m in that mood where all my thoughts are running wild, jumping from all the various topics well hidden on a usual day.

I remember the first time I heard No Such Thing, it was when I had gotten into Nanyang and was stuck with a course I had minimal interest in. It was then that I realized, “I had never lived the dreams of a prom king or a drama queen, but I’d like to think the best of me is still hiding up my sleeve” That was when I had the sudden urge to “run through the halls of my high school, I want to scream, at the top of my lungs, I just found out there’s no such thing as the real world, just a lie, you’ve got to rise above”. Yes, that was the first time that I realized there wasn’t a straight route to get to where you wanted to be, and you sure as hell could fight for your dreams, if you believed in it hard enough. That was when I thought to myself ” I just can’t wait till my 10 year reunion…And you would know what all this time was for” It made me see that it just took a little time and a lot of hard work and faith to get to where you want to be in life.

What finally gave me the courage, to forget Business, and finally realize I could chase my dreams, this very song. It gave me hope, as cheesy as it sounds.

When I finally decided I could not go on living the life I led with Gerard, being whatever it was I was, “Before I’m on my way, I’ve one more thing to ask, was it worth the price you paid, for my never coming back?, oh why did you mess with forever?” When I think of the many words he spoke of how all we needed was one more night, “you ask to kiss me once goodbye, but you already did on someone else’s lips.” And everytime I talk to him, or think of him, “now everything inside me tells me I should run to you, and throw my arms around you, and tell you nothing’s wrong.” Then I remember everything he did to me, and all that is on repeat in my head is ” but a wrong is what you were when you forgot, that we were going on..”

Nowadays, when I think of what I want to do with my life, what I want to be, my dreams and my aspirations, ” Someday I’ll fly, someday i’ll soar, someday i’ll be so damn much more, cause I’m bigger than my body gives me credit for.”

And when I hear people tell me how tough life is going to be, if i continue fighting for the distant dream I believe in, I think of ” maybe I’ll tangle in the power lines, and it might be over in a second’s time. But i’ll gladly go down in a flame, if the flame’s what it takes to remember my name”.

Doesn’t it seem that for every instant, for every feeling, he has a tune?

Nowadays, when I wake up every morning, dreading the hours going to be spent in a job that would bring me through my days, dreading the job my heart and mind detests, “here I stand, six feet small, romanticizing years ago, but it’s a bittersweet feeling, hearing “wrapped around your finger” on the radio…and these days, I wish I was six again, oh make me a red cape, I want to be superman. When I think of what the future holds, and my entire body trembles, ” here I stand six feet small, and smiling cause I’m scared as hell…”

As I walk through these mundane days, when I seem to have forgotten my dreams, ” most of my memories have escaped me, or confused themselves with dreams…”

As I grow on a daily basis, seeing life for what it is, ‘no I’m not colorblind, I know the world is black and white, try to keep an open mind, but just can’t sleep on this tonight…”

When I think of how I might cave and forgo my dreams, ” stop this train, I wanna get off and go home, can’t take the speed its moving in.” And when I think the future might see no one but myself, without my parents, “don’t know how else to say it, don’t want to see my parents go”

And when I think of how I never seem ready for the real world, of how afraid I am of the growing up, “so scared of getting older, I’m only good at being young..” comes into play.

And then everytime I find the hope, and I believe once again, my dreams coming true. ” didn’t have a camera by my side this time, hoping i would see the world with both my eyes…you should have seen that sunrise, it brought me back to life”

When I think of hard life might be, the various obstacles I will have to cross and still hold my head up high, when the only thing left pushing me to strive harder is my dream, “when you’re dreaming with a broken heart, the waking up is the hardest part, you roll out of bed, and down on your knees, and for a moment you can hardly breathe.”

 

You see what I mean? His songs don’t have to play according to your life, but certain lines, certain words just stay with you. Like a picture you never can seem to forget. Thats that thing about Mayer. his ability, to not just talk about love like its the sweetest thing, to talk about life in general. The way he captures moments and thoughts in words. It feels like something he said struck a chord, and somehow everytime you think of that certain thing, his words find their way into your head. He takes the effort to speak of issues and situations in detail, he gives meaning to music. Like in the 70s when people made metaphors of love that really explained the way you felt. Thats what he does with his music.

And his talent with the guitar. “He had a secret relationship with playing the guitar” is what he said of Hendrix, and it is exactly what I feel about him. There’s something dark about it in certain places that maybe Hendrix was too honest to hide.” That same line he spoke of Hendrix is exactly what I feel when I listen to Mayer. Everytime I hear his song, his words sting. They make my hair stand, everytime.

If you managed to catch any of his “live” performances on any website, you see the way he twists his tunes, the way he seems to remix his music and how injects a little humor and truth while perfoming. How little changes he makes for that song, can give you an even better feeling when you listen to that song. And the passion that fills his face as he performs. He immersed he seems, like everything else blacks out. Its like looking at a picture through the fish eye lens. Everything seems dark around him. Nothing takes him away as much as the music from his guitar does. And that intense desire to leave you wanting more, really does leave you wanting more. he produces a performance I would classify as worth waiting for.

In this day and age, when music seems so technical, when people are singing about behinds and whatnots, he brings music back to life. With his words, and his powerful talent with the guitar sends shivers up my spine.

Now there’s something I have to do before I die, watch him “live” till I get my thirst quenched.

One Response

  1. john mayer huh.. got me captivated ever since i listened to “your body is a wonderland”.. haha.. soulful singing.. i understand.. i hope ya doing great.. we shd catch up over teh tarik at tekka 🙂

Leave a Reply

